Skip to Main Content

Back to Databases by Subject

Databases

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides instruction and advice on writing effectively at the scholarly level. Published by the American Chemical Society, this tool is useful for students, librarians, researchers, and educators, across all disciplines. In additional to journal authoring topics and styling conventions, new content includes: open access & open science, sharing data, communicating safety information, and preprints.
New
A collection of over 160 British newspapers, this archive provides a range of local and regional coverage from the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries.

Includes 5 collections:
Part I: 1800-1900
Part II: 1800-1900
Part III: 1741-1950
Part IV: 1732-1950
Part V: 1746-1950
Details here.

Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
Trial
Available on trial until November 30, 2021.

A full-text database of modern newspapers published in mainland China and Taiwan before 1949.

Included publications:
2.1 Shun Pao
2.2 Central Daily
2.3 Taiwan Daily News
2.4 Taiwan Min Bao
2.5 Taiwan JIHO
Trial
Available on trial until November 30, 2021.

A large collection of Chinese and Japanese pre-modern works. Includes close to 30,000 titles with historical, political, economic, religious, philosophic, literary, ethnic, geographic and medical interest.

Includes these sub-collections:
1.1 Zheng tong dao zang
1.2 Dao zang ji yao
1.3 Yong le da dian
1.4 Si bu cong kan
1.5 Xu si bu cong kan (Si bu bei yao)
1.6 Qing Dynasty archives
1.7 Gu jin tu shu ji cheng
1.8 Japanese ancient books
1.9 Dunhuang archives
1.10 Si ku quan shu
1.11 Xu xiu si ku quan shu
1.12 Quan si ku xi lie (Cun mu shu, Wei shou shu, Jin hui shu )
1.13 China local gazetteers
1.14 China local gazetteers~sequel
1.15 Liu fu wen zang
1.16 Ancient Chinese Medicine Books
New
EIO is a collection of research texts from over 170 Italian academic publishers. Content is multidisciplinary but with a particular focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences. Accessed on the Torrossa Digital Library platform.
New
The Gale Archives of Sexuality & Gender is a collection of primary sources relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, gender research and gender studies research. Includes content from 1600 to the early 21st century, from hundreds of institutions and organizations. Social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities around the world are included.,

Includes 4 sub-collections:
International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century

Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
New
Subscription on a trial basis until March 31, 2022.

Accessed on EBSCOhost, this is a collection of 76 readings that cover the foundational concepts, theories, and frameworks essential for business studies. The readings are authored by faculty at Harvard Business School and each reading includes Teaching Notes, related course materials and exhibit slides. Also included are 35-question test banks, practice questions, video clips, and interactive Illustrations enhance student comprehension of specific topics.

To access Teaching Notes, instructors need to create an account on the Harvard Business Publishing website.
New
Subscription on a trial basis until March 31, 2022.

Accessed on EBSCOhost, this collection includes more than 2,000 Harvard Business School case studies (HBS). Materials are designed to give students context, and offer real-world scenarios that expose student to the dynamics of business and society, navigating changing workplaces, and managing teams, personal decisions, and career growth.
New
This collection contains primary sources that document the historical experiences, cultural traditions, innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more, document the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, as well as the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
New


Digitized collections of primary sources from the 'long' 19th century, currently including the following archives:

  • Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange

  • British Politics and Society

  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture

  • European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection

  • New as of 2021: Photography: The World through the Lens

  • Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    New
    Oxford Research Encyclopedias are comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on a range of topics within a given discipline. Summaries are written by experts in the field and can be read in 30 minutes or less.

    Concordia has purchased the following encyclopedias:
    • Politics
    In addition, Concordia has access to the following encyclopedias, on a trial basis, until March 31, 2022:
    • Classical Studies (Oxford Classical Dictionary)
    • Communication
    • Psychology
    • Religion
    Also known as: ORE
    New
    Concordia has access to Part I: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia in the Twentieth Century, a collection of primary sources documenting political extremism and radical thought in the U.S., Europe, and Australia from 1900 - 2010s. Includes periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera.

    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    New
    Punch was a British weekly magazine of wit and satire founded in 1841. This is a complete archive, including Almanacks and other special issues, as well as prefaces, epilogues, indexes, and other specially produced material from the bound volumes. The images in the archive appear as originally published.
    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    New
    This collection of primary sources chronicles the plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Includes over 590,000 pages of pamphlets, ephemera, government documents, relief organization publications, and refugee reports that recount the causes, effects and responses to refugee crises before, during and shortly after World War II.

    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    New
    A collection of primary sources that cover religious movements that originated in, or were re-shaped by, the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Features a wide variety of periodicals, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, newsletters, ephemera and visual materials.

    Includes these sub-collections:

    American Religions Collection
    Christian Identity Materials from the Hall-Hoag Collection of Dissenting and Extremist Printed Propaganda
    FBI File on Jonestown
    FBI File on Waco / Branch Davidian Compound
    FBI File on the Moorish Science Temple of America
    The Shaker Collection
    Utah and the Mormons

    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    New
    Contains digitized primary sources from the holdings of the museums, libraries, and archives of the Smithsonian. Concordia has access to these collections:

    World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow Digital Archive
    Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry Digital Archive

    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    Trial
    Available on trial until November 30, 2021.

    Provides full-text access to the most famous modern Chinese newspaper, Ta Kung Pao. This collection is a valuable record of Chinese modern history and public opinion.
    New
    This is a collection of primary sources documenting women's roles in World War I Britain. Includes interpretative essays, charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings, magazines, posters, correspondence, minutes, records, diaries, memoranda, statistics, circulars, regulations, and invitations. From the The Imperial War Museum, London.

    Also known as: Gale Primary Sources
    Loading...
    Loading...
    title
    Loading...