Skip to main content

Back to Databases by Subject

Databases

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
NOTE: to facilitate access to video content during the pandemic, Concordia is subscribing to this resource until December 31, 2021.

Docuseek2 is a streaming video database of documentaries by independent filmmakers and larger producers alike. The collection's focus is on contemporary social issues in a variety of disciplines, including environmental sciences, political and social sciences, history, health, psychology, and more. Producers include Bullfrog Films, dGenerate Films, Fanlight Productions, Icarus Films, Kartemquin, and the National Film Board of Canada.

Also know as: Docuseek
New

NOTE: to facilitate access to video content during the pandemic, Concordia is subscribing to this resource until December 31, 2021.

Drama Online contains hundreds of plays from the very earliest Greek works right up to the present day, in text, video, and audio formats. In addition to streaming media, Drama Online also includes ebooks that offer contextual information on playwrights, theatre movements, genres, practitioners and periods; as well as practical guides on acting and stage craft. For instructors, subject guides and other teaching tools offer a shortcut to identifying which content on the platform might be of interest.

Drama Online contains these collections:

  • Core Collection
  • Aurora Metro Books
  • Nick Hern Books
  • Playwrights Canada Press
  • L.A. Theatre Works
  • BBC Drama Films and Documentaries
  • The Classic Spring Oscar Wilde Collection
  • The Donmar Shakespeare Trilogy on Screen
  • The Hollow Crown
  • Maxine Peake as Hamlet
  • The National Theatre Collection
  • Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC) Live Collection
  • Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 and 2
  • Shakespeare’s Heroes & Villains
  • Shakespeare in the Present
  • Stage on Screen
  • Critical Studies & Performance Practice
  • Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection

Visit the Help page for a quick overview of how to use Drama Online.
Trial
Available on trial until 05 March 2021.

EIO is a collection of Italian research texts in electronic format containing multidisciplinary content from over 170 Italian academic publishers with particular focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences.
New

NOTE: to facilitate access to video content during the pandemic, Concordia is subscribing to this resource until December 31, 2021.

Electronic Arts Intermix (EAI) is a nonprofit organization that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution and preservation of media art produced from the 1960s to the present. Their educational streaming site contains a selection of videos by contemporary artists including Merce Cunningham, Pipilotti Rist, Dan Graham, Eleanor Antin, Ryan Trecartin, and the Wooster Group. Streaming access is available for over 500 titles.

To view available videos, please click on the artists' names on the homepage. The basic and advanced search functions will pull up results from the entire EAI catalog, which includes titles that are not available on the streaming site.

Also known as: EAI
New

NOTE: to facilitate access to video content during the pandemic, Concordia is subscribing to this resource until December 31, 2021.

Films on Demand's Master Academic Collection is a large collection of streaming video documentaries, feature films and programs by major producers. The content of this collection is relevant to many academic disciplines: business and economics; humanities and social sciences; science and mathematics; and health and medicine. Also included in the 42,000 titles is archival footage and current & historical newsreels.

Also known as: FOD
New
SAE Mobilus is an engineering database specializing in aerospace, commercial vehicle, and automotive engineering. Concordia has access to the current aerospace standards issued by the Society of Automotive Engineers' aerospace committees.

From the search results page, please use the "My Access" filter to exclude documents not included in Concordia's subscription.
Trial
Available on trial until 30 June 2021.

Social Explorer is a demographic research tool that allows users to visually explore demographic information, create reports, and download data - from census and economic data, to election, religion, and COVID-19 data, and more. While the focus is on U.S historical and current information, some additional non-U.S. datasets are included, notably the 2011 censuses from the UK and Canada.

Users with a valid Concordia email address can make a Social Explorer account to save their work.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...